My Daughter and A Poor Wayfaring Man of Grief

I haven’t posted much lately.  My family is taking up all of my time.  My devotion to God is taking up whatever is left over.  I love justice and mercy and the beauty of the Gospel and the greatness of God in His love for me in spite of my great shortcomings and weaknesses.  I have not had it in my heart to become as angry as I have in the past at the wicked secret combinations who destroy life in this world, in their pursuit of wealth and the glory of the world.  I have it only in my heart to preach the Gospel and love my fellow man and those around me and to make my soul reflect the heavens so that I might have a good influence on my fellow man and thus lift up humanity from the pitiful spiritual state we habitate (speaking in general terms).  I don’t know if I am changing somehow or if this means I’ll never blog about politics again or what, but I need to follow the spirit of God and lately it is taking me to other places. 

I leave you with my daughter playing a violin piece from Elder Oaks grandaughter’s violin book:

9 Responses to “My Daughter and A Poor Wayfaring Man of Grief”


  1. 1 Forest Simmons April 6, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Thank you for all of your inspiring insights.

    Elder Uctdorff’s talk on priorities made me think that I need to spend more time with my thirteen year old twin daughters, and less time on things that can be done as well or better by others.

    I look forward to hearing your daughter’s solo as soon as I get access to a computer with a speaker.

    Matthew 25 must have summed it all up for Brother Joseph.

    To paraphrase, “Inasmuch as ye have shown compassion , mercy, or forgiveness to the despised, rejected, or even ‘criminal element,’ ye have done it unto me.”

  2. 2 theradicalmormon April 7, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Elder Uchtdorf’s talk in Priesthood session was the talk of the conference. I was thrilled to the core.

  3. 3 Grégoire April 8, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Dear TRM:

    Thanks for posting the recital! That was perfectly lovely.

    It’s one of the most magical gifts of parenthood to follow your child from the screeching attempts in elementary school toward true competency with a musical instrument in their teens.

    As far as your lack of blogging goes, don’t sweat it. Raising children to be free-thinking, active, moral participants in this decadent, degenerate society is probably the most *revolutionary* act that any of us will ever aspire to. Anyone can be a social critic (I’m proof of that) and fatherhood is a much more ambitious goal. The just society begins in homes like ours, and without that sort of foundation, future generations will have nothing to build upon.

    Enjoy your family. Write when you can. It’s all any of us can do.

  4. 4 theradicalmormon April 9, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Gregoire,
    Thanks for you good words. I have appreciated all you have contributed to the mormon worker and your comments here and have learned a lot from you. Keep in touch.

  5. 5 morris April 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Best look forward to a new kind of readership then

  6. 6 theradicalmormon April 11, 2009 at 4:12 am

    So be it.

  7. 7 Forest Simmons April 15, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Finally I got to listen. I like the arrangement, as well as the interpretation by soloist and accompanist. Nice tones on the high notes in the fifth and sixth positions!

  8. 8 Thailer April 19, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Which Granddaughter of elder Ochs? Is it Tiffany’s? Thanks for the postings you make they are very helpful and make me feel that I have more of a place in the church.

  9. 9 theradicalmormon April 20, 2009 at 3:13 am

    Jenny Oaks Baker is her name. I hear she’s quite an accomplished violinist.


Leave a Reply

Just Foreign Policy Iraqi Death Estimator
Impeach Cheney

