Oh the depravity of my people!

Layla Anwar has posted a couple of articles of horrifying proportions.  One is about a young Iraqi woman raped and tortured for months on end by US military occupation forces in Iraq. 

She beat me for more than one an hour and she forced me to drink a glass of water, and I knew later that they put a drug in it. I regained my consciousness after two days to find myself naked. I knew immediately that I have lost something that all the laws in the earth will not be able to return it to me once again. I had been raped. A hysterical fit attacked me and I started to hit my head violently against the walls till more than five American soldiers head by that soldier women entered the cell and started to beat me, and they raped me alternately while they laughing and listening to a loud music.

Day by day the scenario of raping me was repeated. And every day they invent new ways that are crueler than the prior ways.

After about one month, a Negro soldier entered my cell and threw me two pieces of American military clothes. He said in weak Arabic language to wear them. After he put a black bag on my head, he led me to a public toilet where there are pipes for cold and hot water and he asked me to bathe. He then closed the door and left.

I was so exhausted and feeling pain, and despite the tremendous number of the bruises in my body, I poured out some water on my body. Before I finish my bath, the Negro soldier came in. I frightened, and I hit him in the face with the water bowl. His reaction was so tough. He raped me cruelly and spit on my face, then he left and returned with two soldiers who returned me to the cell.

The treatment continued that way, to the extent that sometimes I was raped ten times in a day, the matter which affected my health negatively.

http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article20387.htm

If you are able to get to her blog page (which I wasn’t able to after a while for some reason) she has an equally horrifying tale of a man who was taken prisoner in the night in Iraq by US occupation forces and tortured for months, sustaining brain trauma from the beatings which killed his motor neurons on one side.  He says he witnessed horrible forms of torture by the US soldiers such as pulling a woman apart by tying two ropes to her ankles and separating her body etc.  That story can be found in her July 31 posting I think.

These sorts of stories remind me of the things Mormon witnessed and wrote to his son in Moroni chapter 9:

  7 And now I write somewhat concerning the sufferings of this people. For according to the knowledge which I have received from Amoron, behold, the Lamanites have many prisoners, which they took from the tower of Sherrizah; and there were men, women, and children.

  8 And the husbands and fathers of those women and children they have slain; and they feed the women upon the aflesh of their husbands, and the children upon the flesh of their fathers; and no water, save a little, do they give unto them.

  9 And notwithstanding this great aabomination of the Lamanites, it doth not exceed that of our people in Moriantum. For behold, many of the daughters of the Lamanites have they taken prisoners; and after bdepriving them of that which was most dear and precious above all things, which is cchastity and dvirtue

  10 And after they had done this thing, they did murder them in a most acruel manner, torturing their bodies even unto death; and after they have done this, they devour their flesh like unto wild beasts, because of the hardness of their hearts; and they do it for a token of bravery.

  11 O my beloved son, how can a people like this, that are without civilization—

  12 (And only a few years have passed away, and they were a civil and a delightsome people)

  13 But O my son, how can a people like this, whose adelight is in so much abomination—

  14 How can we expect that God will astay his hand in judgment against us?
Mormon’s last question to his son is the real question here.  How long can we expect God to stay his hand against us?  If Mormon’s experience is anything to judge by, it won’t be terribly long.
0 Responses to “Oh the depravity of my people!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just Foreign Policy Iraqi Death Estimator
Impeach Cheney

